411 REFERENCE · Wikibooks
Microsoft Office/Loan Payment Amortization Schedule
Reference material by Wikibooks contributors. This retains its source identity and is not 411 news reporting.
Objectives
The Student Will Be Able To (TSWBAT):
Format sections of a worksheet for easy readability
Create Global references and use them in a formula
Determine the monthly payment of a loan with the PMT function
Determine the present value of a loan using the PV function
Analyze data in a worksheet
Create an Amortization schedule
Create hyperlinks in a worksheet
Set a print area and print part of a worksheet
Vocabulary
Hyperlink - links from one document to another, web page to another, or part of a document to another part of the same document
Global Cell Name - A name given to one cell in a workbook, that can be used in any sheet
PMT Function - determines the monthly payment on a loan based on the rate, payment amount and loan amount.
-PMT(Monthly_interest_rate/12, 12*years, loan_amount)
Data Table - a range of cells that shows the answers to a formula
one-input data table - one value in the formula varies
two-input data table - two values in the formula vary
Input Values - The values that are put into the formula for a data table
Amortization Schedule - A table of values that shows the beginning balance of a loan, ending balance for a loan, amount paid toward the principle, and amount paid toward the interest at the end of each year.
PV Function - determines the present value of a loan, or how much you still need to pay at the end of a given amount of time
Annuity - a series of fixed payments such as your monthly payments on a loan
Lesson
Payment Calculator
Titles
Titles
Type "Payment Calculator" in cell B1
Merge and Center cells B1:E1
Format the font as you like - size 16pt
Type "Date" in cell B2
Type "Item in cell B3
Type "Price in cell B4
Type "Down Payment" in cell B5
Type "Loan Amount" in cell B6
Type "Rate" in Cell D2
Type "Years" in cell D3
Type "Monthly Payment" in cell D4
Type "Total Interest" in cell D5
Type "Total Cost" in cell D6
Formatting
Make each column as wide as it needs to be for the labels
Bold all label text
Change the sheet name to "Car Loan"
Save the spreadsheet to your storage space calling it "Loan Calculator"
Function for Today's Date
In cell C2 type:
=now()
Formatting
Format the first section of your spreadsheet with:
an outside border
column dividers
a fill color
Go to the home tab
go to the font group
click on the borders drop down button
choose more borders
make sure all colors go together and you can read the text
Format the data as the proper type
Dollars
Price
Down payment
Loan amount
Monthly payment
Total interest
Total cost
Percent
Rate
General number
Years
Date
Date
Enter Loan Data
Find a Car you want to purchase and the price
go to Kelley Blue Book
Find a NEW car you want to buy
Find the price
go to BankRate.com
Find the interest rate for a car loan
Remember the number of years for that interest rate
Determine if you have any money to put as a down payment NOW
Type in the data you have collected into your spreadsheet
C3 = name of car you are purchasing
C4 = Price for the car
C5 = down payment if you have one, 0 if you don't
E2 = interest rate for the car loan
E3 = number of years for the loan
Create cell Global Names
Click on the cell you wish to name - C4
Go to the Formulas tab
Go to the Define Names group
Click on Define Name
Make sure the name is what you want and click OK
C4 = Price
C5 = Down_Payment
C6 = Loan_Amount
etc...
Compute loan amount
The amount of a loan you need to take out is the price of the car minus the amount you will pay when you purchase the car or the down payment.
go to cell C6
= price - down_payment
or
= C4 - C5
Determine the monthly payment
The monthly payment is how much you will pay each month to pay off the price of the car. This is computed with the interest rate of the loan, the years you will take to pay off the loan, and the total loan amount.
go to cell E4
-pmt(rate/12, 12*years, loan_amount
or
-pmt(E2/12, 12*E3, C6
Determine the total interest
The total interest is the total amount the bank is going to make on loaning you the money to purchase your car. For this computation you will need to know how much the loan amount was, and how much you paid in total over the years. That is figured by taking the years times 12 to find the months, and then multiplying by the monthly payment.
go to cell E5
=12*years*monthly_payment-loan_amount
or
=12*E3*E4-C6
Determine the total Cost
The total cost of the car is how much you paid including the down payment and interest. This is figured by adding the price of the car with the total interest.
go to cell E6
=price+total_interest
or
=C4+E5
Analyze your data
Go back to kelly blue book
find the price of the same car that is one year old
Go back to BankRate.com
find the interest rate for a used car
Change your data
Analyze the difference in how much total you pay for the used car versus a new car
Interest Rate Schedule
Titles
B7 = Interest Rate Schedule
format to same fonts as B1
center across B7:E7
B8 = Rate
C8 = Monthly Payment
D8 = Total Interest
E8 = Total Cost
make all titles bold
Create a series with the fill handle
B10 = 4.00%
B11 = 4.25%
select cells B10:B11
use the fill handle to drag down until you reach 8.00%
Add Initial Values
C9 = E4
D9 = E5
E9 = E6
Define the Data Table
select B9:E26
go to the Data tab
go to the Data Tools group
click on the what-if analysis drop down
choose Data Table
click in the column Input Cell
click on the rate from cell E2
click on OK
Format
select cells B8:E26
shade and border similar to the section above but a different color
Conditional Formatting
select B10:B26
go to the HOME tab
go to the styles group
click on the conditional formatting drop down
click on Highlight cell rules - equal to
click in the format cells that are EQUAL TO
click on E2
click on OK
Change the rate in cell E2 and watch the color section change.
Notice the color rate changes, but the values in the data table does not. You would have to re-select the cells and re do the data table steps.
Amortization Schedule
Titles
G1 = Amortization Schedules
center across G2:K2
same font style and color as the other two sections
G2 = year
H2 = Beginning Balance
I2 = Ending Balance
J2 = Paid on Principle
K2 = Interest Paid
Wrap text for H2:K2
Year Series
G3 = 1
use the fill handle to fill down to G26
click on the smart button - auto fill options
click on fill series
Beginning Balance Formula
H3 =C6
Ending Balance Formula
I3 =PV($E$2/12, 12*($E$3-G3), -$E$4)
I4 =IF(H4<=0,0,PV($E$2/12, 12*($E$3-G4), -$E$4))
Paid on Principle Formula
J3 =H3-I3
J4 =H4-I4
Interest Paid Formula
K3 =12*$E$4-J3
K4 =IF(H4<=0, 0, 12*$E$4-J4)
Fill Table with formulas
Select I4:K4
fill down
Finish the Beginning Balances
H4 = I3
fill down
Amortization totals
I28 = Subtotal
I29 = Down Payment
I30 = Total Cost
J28 = auto sum column J
K28 = auto sum column K
K29 = C5
K30 = J28 + K28 + K29
Formatting
format the same as the other sections just a different color
Hyperlinks
Place a Graphic
go to cell H25
Find a picture in clip art or the internet that represents your car
Go to the insert tab
go to picture or clip art depending on what you are using
Find your picture
Create a Graphic as a link
Right Click on the picture and go to Hyperlink
In the address place the URL for the web site - http://www.kbb.com
Find the web page for the car you are purchaseing
Set a print area
Select the area you want to print - click and drag
Go to the Page Layout Tab
Go to the Page Set up group
Click on the drop down for Print Area
Click on Set Print Area
Print Preview and you will see only that area will print
You can clear the print area or change the print area from this same drop down.
Project
Edit the spreadsheet you created to buy your dream home you find on http://www.remax.com/
Find the loan percentage from a bank such as http://www.boxhomeloans.com/
Decide what type of mortgage you will take out to pick the correct loan interest rate
Change the graphic on the page and have it link to your dream home from remax.com
Rubric